Interview with Author Morgan Songer

This week we are catching up with author Morgan Songer who’s agreed to chat with us about her upcoming projects.

Hi Morgan! How long have you been a writer?

I started writing well enough to understand what I meant around 6 and really got commented to it around 8. I sent my first contest piece off to Disney when I was 8.

What inspired you to write your first book?

For my series that got me into writing as a career, I was reading a fun series but I felt the characters started acting “out of character”. I started writing a fan fiction about how I thought “it should go” and went from there.

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

When I picked up my first Disney’s Adventures magazine. Everything in there inspired me on a monthly basis, I couldn’t get enough of them.

What type of genre do you write in and why do you enjoy writing in this genre?

I write sci-fi/fantasy, teen to adult. I love sci-fi/fantasy with logic behind it. The “thank god for the whatever device” doesn’t cut it with me.

Have you won any awards for your writing?

Negative ghost rider. I did get told by that Disney competition that my story was amazing, their words, but too long. 🙂

Do you remember what the contest was about?

The contest was for a basic script idea for a short that they would have casted, filmed and, aired on the Disney channel.

Where do you find your inspiration and what motivates you?

I find my inspiration usually in a one sentence “brain blast” as Jimmy Neutron would say. I think of something suddenly, something typically dramatic, and then once I get an idea on how to explain it simply I run with it.

1960016_626660780722492_1658980744_n

Who are your favorite authors and why?

Kelly Armstrong’s first 5 books make me cry they are so good and deeply written, you can connect to them on different levels. Andrzej Sapkowski’s Witcher series is glued to my fingertips the second his books are released, video games are just as good. Sergei Lukyanenko’s Night Watch series is breath taking, I wish the movies had done better because they were visually stunning. Frank Herbert’s Dune series is like my bible times infinity. J. R. R. Tolkien is a great and must, can’t wait to read his translation of Beowulf.

I am a giant comic nerd so my tastes and inspirations tend to come from that area more. Kentaro Miura’s Berserk series is the reason I breath sometimes. I can not think of anything written I love more. The animated series is amazing but doesn’t cover all the manga. Jonathan Hickman’s East of West is the best on going comic series out there right now imo. I have no words to explain it’s greatness. I have to read his Manhattan Project series next.

What do you enjoy doing when you are not writing?

I watch tv shows or movies. I like to go outdoors and be extreme when I want to be active. Sometimes I climb on furniture. 😉

How many books/stories have you written? Do you have a favorite?

I have 4 books done but not fully edited. None are out yet. I have around 30 short stories all within the same universe the series is based in but throughout time.

My favorite right now is my Fortune novella because it will be the first story I release and the last story timeline wise in the series at the same time. Fun stuff! I also have a lot of fun writing anything with Wyler (Incarcerated) or Roan (Isn’t He Lovely) in it, you’ll get to know them soon enough.

When will Fortune be available to the public?

I am almost done with Fortune, three more chapters left to finish. So hopefully by the end of the summer. I give no promises. 😉

When you write, do you have a routine?

I don’t have a routine but I do exercise when I can’t focus. I have around 4 to 8 stories up at once and bounce back and forth a lot.

Tell us a bit about your latest book:

Waning (Shatter is it’s current working title) is based on the idea that during the 14th century Inquisitions the Catholic church actually finds witches. That gives way to the discovery of other creatures that have been living amongst humans for centuries. Some of the world believes in the myths while others turned a blind eye. Now the world is populated with humans, vampires, werewolves, demons, witches, and half bloods trying to survive when staying hidden in the shadows is no longer an option. The first book will be revolving around a group of friends who have been together for centuries, a strange and deadly woman shows up bringing hell to their door in the form of old memories and new challenges. Friendships are questions, alliances are tested, old ways are thrown out the window as those who thought they could never be whole start to find the pieces they had been missing in the heart and mind of this tortured woman.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I would figure out my world before just going to town on writing, I had to go back and fix a lot.

What do you find is the hardest part of writing your book?

Making sure that my timeline is correct and I am not repeating myself. I find myself re-reading my work and going “Oh, that was a fun line” then realizing it was because I already wrote it earlier in the chapter.

What do you find is the easiest part of writing your book?

Having fun with the world I want to build. Doing research and making graphs to show how everyone interacts with others in the series. I love seeing I have a great world and I have built it well.

How long did it take you to fully develop this world?

I am still working on it! My husband/hetero lifeboat Patrick got me into really building my world before I went to much further with my writing. It has helped me tremendously in terms of timelines and continuity!

Is this book part of a series?

This book will be part of at least 6 books called the Dirge Alliance series. I then will do at least 4 books with the survivors of the first series. I have other books that aren’t always dealing with creatures, but will be in the same universe and they will all interconnect in some way.

What motivated you to write this book?

In true jerk style, I knew I could do better than some of the people’s work I as reading.

Tell us about the cover. What do you like best about it?

I don’t really have a cover right now. Taking ideas. 😉 Looking for something with Zonathon (“main” character in Waning) as his wolf on the cover somehow. Really want to stray away from cheesy or romancey.

Where and how will your books be sold?

I will be putting out my short stories for cheap on Amazon for starters in the next few months. Otherwise they are free on my blog for now. http://dirgeseriesshortstories.blogspot.com/

Do you have any advice for other authors?

Get a good core group of people willing to edit for you and find people who you like editing for. You need people who will tell you the truth and work with you. Figure out your world and it’s rules. Then fly you beautiful peacock, fly!

If you could go back 10 years, is there anything you would change or warn yourself about?

I would tell myself to do research instead of trusting people to know what they are talking about. I would tell myself to be patient and think before acting. I would get into mma. I would want to instill in myself the confidence I still struggle with today. I can see moments in my life where I needed guidance and it wasn’t there. I would tell myself not to look to others for that guidance. I would tell myself to listen to Bruce Lee and “be like water”.

Where do you hope to be in 10 years?

I plan on finishing up making a movie with Quentin Tarantino that we have worked on together (it is gonna happen). I will have my own dais at every San Diego comic con as of 2018 on. I will have already free dived at least twice with great white sharks and bungee jumped off of everything I am legally allowed to in the U.S. I wouldn’t mind being here in Colorado still but Uruguay is a goal for sure.

Sounds awesome. What will your movie be about?

I have no idea, I just want to pick his brain and make a beautiful baby. 😉 I would love to do a time piece with him, maybe something dark like the crusades or Joan of Arc mixed with Django and Inglorious Bastards. Something that would fit into his universe and mine. It can be done! 😉

How can readers discover more about you and your work?

I am working on that. I don’t have much of an internet presence but I also don’t have anything really out yet. My blog and face book pages are the best for right now.

http://dirgeseriesshortstories.blogspot.com/

https://www.facebook.com/TheDirgeAlliance?ref_type=bookmark

You can message me personally at dirgeseries@gmail.com if you want to talk my work, know spoilers, or get critiques.

On reddit I am dmb5456 and I do a lot of critiquing for people.

 

One thought on “Interview with Author Morgan Songer

  1. Lot of interesting teasers for work to look forward to, Dune has to be one of my favourites – love the Fremen. First encounter with Tolkien was his essay on Beowulf. Now LOTR is my favourite book, especially to keep re-reading. Good luck Morgan.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

