Interview with Author Alison Lyke

Author Alison Lyke is our guest for this week. Let’s start getting to know her a bit better.

Hello Alison! How long have you been a writer?

I’ve been a writer since I was a child. As soon as I learned to write I started writing stories and plays.

What inspired you to write your first book?

I’d been writing short stories for years and I decided to try something longer.

Author Alison Lyke
Author Alison Lyke

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

I’ve always wanted to be a writer, but I was told that I couldn’t because it’s nearly impossible to get a book published and writers don’t make any money. That never stopped me from pursuing it as a hobby. My hobby turned into how I make a living and my first novel was published.

What type of genre do you write in and why do you enjoy writing in this genre?

I write science fiction, fantasy, and horror. I’m drawn to the fantastic, the weird, and the stomach turning.

Who are your favorite authors and why?

My favorite author is Kurt Vonnegut. My favorite book is Cat’s Cradle. The first line is a play on Moby Dick, “Call me Jonah, my parents did, or nearly did.” – My son’s name is Jonah. I like Vonnegut because he writes science fiction with humor and philosophy. That’s what I like to read and write. Nothing too serious, but on the other hand it’s incredibly, vitally serious.

I like Carlo’s Castaneda’s luxurious, surreal spirituality. I’m a huge fan of Louisa May Alcott’s pioneering treatment of women.

What do you enjoy doing when you are not writing?

I read, play video games, hike, work out, do yoga, meditate, watch movies, and have long conversations.

What’s your  favourite video game to play? 

My all time favorite video game is Super Mario Bros. 3. Right now I’m playing Diablo III with a level 49 Demon Hunter on Nightmare Mode.

Honey
Honey

Tell us a bit about your latest book:

My novel Honey came out about a year ago. It’s a mythological fantasy about a teashop barista who’s accosted by the gods. I used gods from mythologies from all over the world to construct a pantheon. I wanted to create a modern myth, like something that would have happened in Greek mythology, but it’s happening today.

When did the idea for Honey first come to you?

My father was an artist who painted scenes and sculpted gods from various mythologies and religions  from around the world. So, I grew up with these stories and I saw the similarities in these belief systems. These gods represent universal ideas that are still relevant today – communication, love, Earth, time, justice, etc. With Honey I wanted to create a myth, set in modern time, and ruled over by the gods of the ancient world.

Out of all the gods you researched, who was your favourite?

My favorite god to research was the one that I eventually called Karma, but she’s an amalgamation of several gods, religious ideas, and cultural icons. She’s Maat (Egypt), Nemesis (Greek), Lady Justice (Roman/American), and of course the Hindu/Buddhist idea of Karma.

What do you find is the hardest part of writing your book?

Finding the time to write it

What do you find is the easiest part of writing your book?

Coming up with the story ideas. My mind is a never-ending fountain of ideas.

How many of your books are published?

Just the one, for now.

Where and how are your books sold?

Amazon and Barnes and Noble. It’s available in both eBook and printed formats.

If you were stuck on an island with three fictional characters, who would they be?

I’d like to be stuck with Josephine March from Little Women for conversation. The Flash from the DC Comics because he could gather fish and coconuts really quickly. And Gandalf.

Do you have any advice for other authors?

Write and read everyday. Mediate and imagine. Tell yourself bedtime stories. Remember all the little details when you’re someplace interesting. Write down your dreams as soon as you wake up. Don’t just try to be a writer, try to be an excellent writer.

 If you could go back 10 years, is there anything you would change or warn yourself about?

No, I like my life right now, so if I changed anything I might not be where I am.

Where do you hope to be in 10 years?

I’d love to be wholly supported by my creative work so that I’m able to write books all day long.

How can readers discover more about you and your work?

I’ve been hanging out on Goodreads and Twitter. I also have a website www.alisonlyke.com.

If you’d like to learn more about Alison or Honey please visit these sites

www.alisonlyke.com

http://www.amazon.com/Honey-Alison-Lyke/dp/1938444086/ref=tmm_pap_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1405960756&sr=8-1

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18107960-honey

Leave a Reply

