Interview With Author KT Hunter

Recently I caught up with KT Hunter, Author of Brooklynn’s Bridge. Kris was kind enough to take some time out of her busy day to answer a few of my questions.

Hi Kris, Thanks for letting me interview you. Let’s get down to business. How long have you been a writer?

Probably 15 yrs. It started as just writing songs at 14 and wanting to be a producer and then after I attended college my songs turned into stories. That’s when I came up with the idea of Brooklynn.

What inspired you to write your first book?

My mother. When she passed I felt the need to write and get my work out there. She was a great writer but never pushed herself to do more and I wanted that. I needed that for myself and for her.

Your mother sounds like a very strong woman. Was her work ever published?

No and she actually had a few of them that wanted to take on her work. I guess a part of her always felt her like she could have her dream of being a writer but being a working mother and wife taking care of five children it gets kind of hard so she decided against it.

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

Wow, lol I’m not sure. I grew up writing and my mother told us that it was okay to be creative. Whether we wrote funny songs or poems. That all started around I would say 13 or 14.

What type of genre do you write in and why do you enjoy writing in this genre?

I am a young adult writer. I enjoy it because when you are a teenager the feelings you have about the things you face in life at that time are raw. The emotions, encounters, and simple things like songs in a certain moment stick with us until we die; and the most memorable moments we hold dear in life are created during our teenage years. I guess that part of you never dies and I love to relive it through my writing.

KT Hunter
KT Hunter

Where do you find your inspiration and what motivates you?

Anything, but mostly 90’s and 2000’s television shows inspire me. I feel at that time shows really captivated you and you hated to see them go. You grew with those characters and come to love even the ones you didn’t like and I want to write books with characters that people love.

Which character is your book do you think most people will love?

Wow, I’m not sure. I will probably say either Haagen because he is handsome and Taylor because she is very out spoken.

What do you enjoy doing when you are not writing?

My family, family is most important.

How many books/stories have you written? Do you have a favorite?

Brooklynn’s Bridge is my first novel, but I have written 2 pilots for TV shows and 2 screenplays. But my favorite is a pilot that I wrote that might also be converted into a novel called “Why Me?” It’s also young adult but on the borderline of new adult.

Why did you make the switch from TV Scripts/Screenplays to Novels?

My aunt, I was having a hard time trying to contact agencies and things and that’s when she told me “Hey Kris why won’t you write a book? Most TV shows and movies are based on books.” I tried to write a novel with Brooklynn and after three chapters I quit. I found it hard, but after I studied other novels I went back to those chapters and finally finished the novel.

When you write, do you have a routine?

Not really. I do listen to music to put me in a certain mood for a scene, but Brooklynn is pretty much already written out. It was an idea for a TV show that I wrote 7 seasons for but I turned them into novels. So it’s kind of easy the hard part is free-styling on parts that I have to add in. Its challenging but I love it.
Tell us a bit about your latest book:

Brooklynn’s Bridge is a young adult novel about a teenage girl that has an psychic ability. She is challenged everyday to have a normal life and help save people at the same time; all the while keeping her ability a secret. Brooklynn struggles a lot because helping others is getting her into big trouble. So she has to find a way to get herself out of sticky situations. The overall message is that you have to learn to accept who you are, finding a way of coping with life and the disadvantages that you face. I think it’s something not only teenagers deal with, but as an adult I can say we face those similar challenges as well.

When will Brooklynn’s Bridge become available to the public?

Still in the production process, but hopefully in August!

What do you find is the hardest part of writing your book?

Giving each character a voice. Especially a character that is an enemy of Brooklynn’s. I might like Brooklynn but this character doesn’t and I have to make him/her have a voice that speaks to the reader and make that feel like “Hey I understand why this person doesn’t care for Brooklynn.”

What do you find is the easiest part of writing your book?

Placing action into the story. I love mushy and love making novels, but I like action. I want to see the characters fight, kick, scream, etc.

Is this book part of a series?

Yes it is. I am working on the second novel now.

Brooklynn's Bridge
Brooklynn’s Bridge

Tell us about the cover. What do you like best about it?

Spectacle did an amazing job on the cover. They read my mind because it was exactly what I wanted. The young girl is on her knees with her hands behind her back. She isn’t restrained, but life makes her feel that way. Her head is downward as if she is tired and feels as if she has the weight of the world on her shoulders and she does. You feel the young girl’s agony and the pressure she faces just looking at the cover. It described my character Brooklynn well.

Do you have any advice for other authors?

Believe in yourself. I had a coworker that wanted to write a novel and after speaking with me one night he was writing his first novel the next day. I will encourage anyone to follow their heart and dreams. Believe in yourself that you can do anything.

If you could go back 10 years, is there anything you would change or warn yourself about?

I would spend time with people that I have lost.

Where do you hope to be in 10 years?

I hope Brooklynn’s Bridge does well enough for me to take to theaters. I would love for that to happen.

Thanks again Kris. If you want to discover more about KT Hunter and Brooklynn’s Bridge you can check out her blog brooklynnsbridge.blogspot.com/. She is also on twitter (twitter.com/KHunterKT) and Facebook (www.facebook.com/BrooklynnsBridge) and www.spectaclepmg.com

Leave a Reply

