Alanna, The First Adventure By Tamora Pierce

This last week I have started to re-read probably one of my favourite series from an author whom I would consider to be most influential on my writing. The Song Of the Lioness Quartet by Tamora Pierce. I have to admit, if I was allowed to meet any author I wanted, this is probably who I would pick.

AtFA_Cover2The first book in The Song Of The Lioness Series is Alanna, The First Adventure. The story is centred around Alanna, a girl who doesn’t want to grow up to be a lady. She wants to be a knight and perform great deeds. But only boys are allowed to train to become knights so she cuts her hair and trades places with her twin brother. Taking the alias of Alan, she goes to the castle to prove her worth.

I loved re-reading this novel. I first read it years ago when I was still in primary school. My copy is looking more beat up than the picture to the left but it’s still whole. As a tomboy, the character of Alanna really spoke to me and I’m happy to say still does. This is the first time I’ve re-read Alanna since becoming a writer myself. It’s amazing the little things you start to notice. Tamora Pierce is a master of moving the story along without denying the reader. The short novel encompasses four years of Alanna’s life yet the story rolls smoothly from one incident to the next.

I have trouble with this when I write. It’s hard for me to write the passage of time. Reading this novel has reminded me that sometimes just a few words is all that’s needed.

I’m continuing onto the next book in the series today, In The Hand Of The Goddess. If you haven’t read this series yet, I recommend you place it on your list. It was the spark that ignited my passion for both reading and writing.

Leave a Reply

